Skip to main content

Unlock Your Team's Collaboration Tools: Video & Chat

The Collaboration tab is where you communicate and connect with your network directly inside Doodle. It brings together groups and direct messages so you can chat, video call, share resources, and review past recordings- all without leaving your account.

Written by Kimberly Ford

What's in the Collaboration tab

The Collaboration tab has two sections in the left sidebar:

  • Classes - This will hold all of the classes you are enrolled in or have been added to.

  • Rooms - dedicated collaboration spaces, each tied to a specific person or room that you've created. Your rooms are listed by name under this section.

  • Direct messages - quick one-on-one chats with your connections.

Note: Collaboration features are a paid add-on to Enterprise Plans. If you'd like more information about these features you can speak with our sales team or contact your dedicate account representative directly.


Rooms

A room is a persistent space you share with another person or for a meeting. Each room has four tabs: video call, chat, links, and recordings.

To create a new room

1.) Click on Create

2.) Select Virtual Room
​

3.) Name the room and add your participants

You will then find the new room in the Collaboration tab under Rooms.

Starting a video call

  1. Click Collaboration in the left sidebar.

  2. Under room, click the room you want to open.

  3. Click the video call tab at the top of the room.

  4. Click start video call to begin the session.
    ​

Chatting in a Room

  1. Open the room from the room section in the sidebar.

  2. Click the chat tab.

  3. Click the send a message field at the bottom, type your message, and click the send button (➤) to send it.

Chat history in room is saved automatically, so you and the other person can always scroll back through past conversations.

Sharing links

Use the links tab to share helpful websites, articles, or videos with the other person in the room.

  1. Open the room and click the links tab.

  2. Click + Add a link in the top-right corner.

You can also search through shared links using the search bar on the links tab.

Viewing recordings and transcripts

Past video call recordings are stored automatically in the Recordings tab of each room.

  1. Open the room and click the recordings tab.

  2. Switch between the recordings and transcripts sub-tabs to find what you need.

  3. Use the search bar to find a specific session.

If no calls have been recorded yet, the tab will show "No recordings available." Recordings appear automatically once they have been processed after a live session.

Adding participants to a room

The organizer of a room can add and remove participants at any time.

  1. Inside the room, tap on the 'people icon' to pull up the participant list.

  2. Use the add option to invite new participants

  3. Use the trash can option to remove participants
    ​


Direct Messages

Direct Messages let you have a quick chat with any of your connections without going through a Room.

  1. Click Collaboration in the left sidebar.

  2. Click Direct messages

  3. Select an existing conversation from the list

    1. To start a new direct message, you'll want to head to the People tab and search for your contact

  4. Type your message in the Send a message field and click the send button (➤).

Did this answer your question?